What does it mean?

Eighty percent full represents a health concept, which refers to when you should stop eating. This tactic is used in Okinawa, Japan, one of many Blue Zones around the world renowned for human longevity.

The reasoning behind this principle is that it takes 20 to 30 minutes to realize how full you are. When you feel 80 percent full that is an indicator that you should stop eating so that you don’t overeat. Americans in particular, have a propensity to overeat, so using this skill would be one way to eat less and live healthier.

Since January I have been exploring how food affects our bodies. I began by reading Joel Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live, and this led me to adopt a whole food, plant-based diet in January of 2015. Now? I continue to explore food issues focusing on other aspects of America’s food system.

I am currently in college studying anthropology and sociology.  I am very interested in food culture, food systems, and how we communicate with one another around these issues. It is my intention for this blog to be a place where I share what I am learning, from books I am reading to the synthesis of ideas I am developing in my classes.

Food sustainability has wide application. It can be a leap diving into the subject, but I truly believe this topic is of primary concern. I predict that these issues will be at the center of the most pressing conflicts of this generation.

Leave a Reply

